Day 1 – Meeting Argentinian Student Hosts & Homestay Families

June 1

After a brief overnight, the group met at the Universidad de Congreso to meet our Argentinian contingent in-person. The first part of the day was an on-site orientation, reviewing the schedule, talking about safety, local customs, and more.  A tour of the city of Mendoza came next, winding through the various sections and parks spread out across the city. The tour was followed a fantastic reception so that the students could meet their Argentinian host families!

Here’s some thoughts from our participants on the first few days – Pictures to follow!

The culture difference between our countries is striking. I think the part that stuck out for me most is my lack of Spanish skills. It really makes me want to learn Spanish. While I always wanted to learn Spanish, I’m really inspired to do it. I’m excited that this trip is going to jumpstart it! ~ Cassie, Regis College Faculty

So far this experience has been amazing. Starting in Boston, to a layover in Panama to arriving 15 hours later to Mendoza Argentina, it has been a true cultural experience. Getting to meet the students along with faculty from Universidad de Congreso and homestay families from Mendoza has been more than I ever expected. My homestay mother has truly made me feel like I am at home even 5,000 miles away from Boston. Although it has only been two days and we still have a ways to go, I have already learned so much about this culture and about myself through this experience and I can’t wait for what’s next!  ~ Kristina, Regis College student

Leave a comment